Good sportsmanship is good behavior. It is the imposition of a code of conduct on players that supersedes any competition or any consideration of winning or losing. These sportsmanship awards are presented annually to a player in the Junior, Boys, and Girls. The winners best exemplify the qualities of players who recognize and acknowledge talents equal to, better than, or less than his or hers; competitors who play hard yet appreciate his or her opponent’s abilities. It is not an award to recognize a superstar or a top point-producer, but an award to distinguish a person who spiritually and morally leads his or her team by the example of Christian sportsmanship. The award is intended to honor players who best demonstrate the qualities and conduct of fair play accompanied by the capacity to win or lose gracefully and graciously without arrogance in victory or whining in defeat.

In 2006 a team Sportsmanship Award was added. Like the individual award, the team award is earned for good behavior. This award will be presented annually to the team, cheerleaders, and fans of one church or school that best exemplify the qualities of sportsmanship.

These awards are permanently displayed in the Valparaiso University trophy showcase for all visitors and students to see. The Calumet Athletic Officials Association (CAOA) referees, solely on the basis of votes cast throughout the Tournament of Champions, select each year’s winners.

The LBAA is grateful to the CAOA for the establishment of these awards, not so much because they add yet another piece of hardware to the festivities on Super Sunday but more importantly, because they symbolize what the National Tournament of Champions is all about. Additionally, these awards embrace this philosophy, “Hey, we only do it for the love of God and the kids.” (Wally McCormack, LBAA Hall of Famer, Former CAOA official).


Jack Fordyce Boy’s Division Award
Year Honoree
2014 Colton Grahovac, Saint Paul’s Lutheran, Fort Wayne, IN
2013 Nick Webb, Holy Cross Lutheran School & Church, Ft. Wayne, IN
2012 Isaiah Hennings, Our Redeemer, Wauwatosa, WI
2011 Chuck Hartman, Bloomington Lutheran, MN
2010 Ben Carlson, Immanuel, Palatine, IL
2009 Kevin Woebke, Concordia, Bloomington, MN
2008 Cameron Cummings, Pilgrim, Minneapolis, MN
2007 Chris McFarlane, Our Redeemer, Wauwatosa, WI
2006 Chip Rank, First Immanuel, Cedarburg, WI
2005 Chris Breuer, Bloomington, MN
2004 Derek Egley, Zion, San Antonio, TX
2003 Landon Tatum, Shepherd of the Hills, TX
2002 Matt Rossetto, Trinity, Portland, OR
2001 Pete Cloeter, Interparish, Williamsburg, IA
2000 Jeff Quinn, Redeemer, Wayzata, MN
1999 Billy Lynch, Central, New Haven, IN
1998 Brad Rathe, Immanuel, Palatine, IL
1997 Alex Gierse, St. Paul, Farmington, MO
1996 Nicholas Wacker, Trinity, Orlando, FL
1995 Corey Bultemeier, Wyneken, Decauter, IN
1994 Mitch Diers, St. James, Howard Lake, MN

John Hoban Girl’s Division Award
Year Honoree
2014 Sammie Gehris, St Mark Lutheran, Kentwood, MI
2013 Elle VanGrinsven, St. Jacobi Lutheran Church/School, Greenfield, WI
2012 Kira Singer, St. Peter, Columbus, Indiana
2011 Sarah Stumme, Salem, Orange, CA
2010 Brianna Sons, Immanuel, Seymour, IN
2009 Anastasia Wesen, Grace, Pocatella, ID
2008 Kelsey Dinkel, Christ, Norfolk, NE
2007 Kayla Engelhard, Christ the King, Sebewaing, MI
2006 Amanda Brait, St. Andrew, Park Ridge, IL
2005 April Burczyk, St. Jacobi, Greenfield, WI
2004 Kristen Contreras, St. Mark, Houston, TX
2003 Rachel Pexa, Zion, Cologne, MN
2002 Sharon Heyer, Trinity, Cedar Rapids, IA
2001 Amber Beasly, Wayzata, MN
2000 Katie Mell, St. Paul, Farmington, MO
1999 Sarah Shearman, St. Paul, Des Peres, MO
1998 Cookie Ulrich, Immanuel, Palatine, IL
1997 Chris Zacher, St. Jacobi, Greenfield, WI
1996 Kari Saving, Hope, Shawnee, KS
1995 Marisa Opsincs, St. Mark, Brunswick, OH
1994 Katie Paxon, Immanuel, Palatine, IL

Mel Doering Team Sportsmanship Award
Year Honoree
2013 Saint Paul’s Lutheran School, Fort Wayne, IN
2011 St. John, Chaska, MN
2006 First Lutheran School, Ponca City, OK

W.D. Mc Cormack High School Division Award
Year Honoree
2010 Terrance Brown, Bethlehem, St. Louis, MO
2009 Javonti George, St. Peter, Brooklyn, NY
2008 Gary Stone, St. Peter, Brooklyn, NY
2007 Brenden Schulz, St. John, Wauwatosa, WI
2006 Dennis McGrew II, St. Stephen’s, Chicago, IL
2005 Cordaryll Ward, St. Stephen’s, Chicago, IL
2004 Wes Wilcox, Trinity, Chicago, IL
2003 Freddie Dilworth, St. Stephen’s, Chicago, IL
2002 Skyler Zarndt, St. Paul, Decatur, IL
2001 Carlton Brown, St. Stephen’s, Chicago, IL
2000 Jacob Summers, Christ, Peoria, IL
1999 Patrick Manore, Trinity English, Ft. Wayne, IN
1998 Mike Sieg, Trinity, Bloomington, IL
1997 Kevin Bischoff, St. Peter, Milwaukee, WI
1996 David Durkee, St. Paul, Decatur, IL
1995 Graham Conrad, Bethany, Appleton, WI
1994 George Rose, Trinity, Danville, IL
1993 Andy Sheets, Trinity, Bloomington, IL
1992 Scott Schauer, St. Peter/Immanuel, Milwaukee, WI<
1991 James Popp, Holy Cross, Saginaw, WI
1990 Mike Radtke, Good Shepherd, Appleton, WI
1989 Jeremy Frank, St. Lorenz, Frankenmuth, MI
1988 Steve Lasch, Trinity, Bloomington, IL
1987 Kriss Kraussel, Covenant-Beautiful Savior, Milwaukee, WI
1986 Bret Montgomery, Good Shepherd, Saginaw, MI